I’m Starting to Write Like a Musician

Note: If your name is here and you would like it changed or removed, please let me know

MY STORY

I wanna join the Nerd Corps
There’s almost nothing that I want more
Adam, where’s that application I’ve been lookin’ for
I wanna be a part of the Nerd Corps

It all started on twitter
It was this guy Bill he planted a seed
Not well enough to make it to Warped so I bribed a sitter
The sitter wasn’t for kids he was for me

There I met Lars for the very first time
Was introduced to Science it was love at first sight
From there it gets weird and surreal
Unable to sleep at night I started to write and learn how to rhyme

I got hooked on indie hip hop
I used to be all about rock
But I’m on this hip hop train and it just won’t stop
Opportunity’s at my door I can’t ignore the knock

Rock’s still cool I’m into that too
Wore a Science shirt to see Cosmonaut in NYC
The people there you’d never guess who
Dave Parker saw the Horris Records logo and wanted to meet me

I turned around and he saw Weerd on the front of my shirt
After showing up alone I hung with a crowd
People whose company made me feel proud
Thank you everyone, especially Dave, Neesh and Dirt

Speaking of Front, I discovered others too
His website wanted PHP format for my prefs
I couldn’t remember, thought what’s wrong with you
Then I remembered I’m just giving my brain a rest

I wanna join the Nerd Corps
There’s almost nothing that I want more
Adam, where’s that application I’ve been lookin’ for
I wanna be a part of the Nerd Corps

It started when Bill got me into Lars but others would follow
Grieves and Budo, they put on a nice show
There’s a place in my heart for Adam or is it Eugene?
Oh who cares you all know who I mean

Now none of my friends have ever heard of my music
It used to be oldies and classic rock and mainstream
But this indie stuff it created a dream
And I just gotta figure out how imma use it

It started with Lars and Science but there’s so much more
The City Never Sleeps, Eppard Brothers, I even found 3
And tons of rappers, like Thought Criminals I adore
This unknown path I’m walking must lead right inside of me

Cuz now I wanna join the Nerd Corps
There’s almost nothing that I want more
Adam, where’s that application I’ve been lookin’ for
I wanna be a part of the Nerd Corps

I never knew who I was ’til my life got fucked up
But hip hop came in and saved me
They don’t beat me down now people boost me up
Everything is different now I’m not the same me

And I wanna join the Nerd Corps
There’s almost nothing that I want more
Adam, where’s that application I’ve been lookin’ for
I wanna be a part of the Nerd Corps

It started with love from Lars and Science and JTL
That’s how hip hop first made it into me
Now there are too many to name but what the hell
I’ll give you 2 more: Sample the Martian and JTB

Now I’ve found a great community
Where it’s about the art not just money and fame
It’s about love in your heart and knowing your name
But did I find them or did they find me?

And now I wanna join the Nerd Corps
There’s almost nothing that I want more
Adam, where’s that application I’ve been lookin’ for
I wanna be a part of the Nerd Corps

One response to “I’m Starting to Write Like a Musician

Leave a Reply

